Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Thoughts on TRON: Legacy

So I caught TRON on Blu-ray and wow PRETTY *drool*.  Looks so damn awesome!

I for one never watched the old TRON, that was a bit before my time and looking back at it today xD
How about no, though I guess the story might be nice but the visuals...

Personally I loved the music and sound effects in this, was so epic and perfect and seeing daft punk play put a smile on my face =) nice.

TRON: Legacy didn't really have that good of a story.  Was rather predictable which was a bit of a let down.

Problem now is I want to TRON everything.  Saw some shirts on-line that look like the clothes they wore in TRON, best part of these shirts, they also glow in the dark. How awesome is that?!  Thinking about it I'm not so sure I want to walk down the road at night and stand out like that =p

Radical man =p

Monday, March 28, 2011

Pokemon Black

So I recently acquired pokemon black, after having played pokemon Gold(2010) for almost 100 hours I have to say I was really really looking forward to black.  
So when you open up the case you are greeted with your cartridge and a leaflet explaining how to obtain Victini(some mythical pokemon) from Nintendo WFC.


PS. the WFC event for Victini is just running till 22 April 2011


All pretty cool and awesome so far, so I start up the game, Right off the bat you notice that the character draw distance is further away and seems like the outline is thinner than before, which if you ask me takes the characters to a whole new level of ugly.


Text now comes in the from large text bubble at the top or bottom of the screen and every now and then right between the action.


When you travel into town / buildings there are all kinds of neat bells and whistles that have been added, one of the new changes building wise is that the pokemart and pokecenter are now in the same building which is a nice touch.  But still I dislike the angle at which you view the pokecenter.


My largest gripe with the pokemon black is how the battle screen has changed, pokemon now stand out more and have depth and move a bit, even though that movement comes in a 2 or 3 second loop.  What I found disappointing was how the Graham looked, now I know some people are all well its not about the graphics and the ds has never been a graphical power house but really, those pixels look they they belong in minecraft =p


One thing I do think they did do right was to make the battles a tiny bit faster or maybe I am just imagining things =p


Now for the pokemon, they seem to be a rip off, off generation 1 and 2 pokemon with slightly different looks and some just entirely ugly and useless coupled with pretty silly names for the most part.   Though I guess the names are pretty descriptive, "roggenrola" no prizes here for guessing this pokemon.


A few things that I did find puzzling were that in gold and silver it was possible to have one pokemon out and about and follow you, this feature has been removed.  No apricorns to make pokeballs from, i know it was gimmicky but thought it was a nice touch. gave me a nice supply of free pokeballs =p  and then 


Ultimately I think black and white takes 1 step forward and 2 steps back.  But that's just my opinion...

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

ovi fail

Just the other day I had this idea that I should write some small application for the ovi store, just for fun. Not to sell it or anything but just learn a bit and then maybe later develop something worth selling.

The idea stayed with me for awhile until, my phones memory card got corrupted and I had to format it. I couldn't back up any of the applications I had installed (cause Symbian is scrappy like that or due to my lack of knowledge or both).

But that was ok, ovi had my back right, it has a list of Applications I downloaded from the store. I proceeded to formatting, ovi store, realized I couldn't download any of the applications under my stuff tab and to my shock found out that they don't allow you to download a application more than once unless you email them and ask them to unlock it for you.

So you buy a application but you can only install it once and if you lose it you have to email customer support and have them open it for you so you can download it again, and to make it worse they can just do this 4 times per application, after that you will have to buy the application again.

How retarded is that?

Why on earth would I write a application for their silly store? Until they sort out their policy regarding the installation of applications I will continue to refuse to use ovi store.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

New Linkin Park Song

Myself being a huge LP fan, I couldn’t wait to hear the new song called “The Catalyst”. Went over to their MySpace page to listen to the song and wow what have they done! Disappointing.

The first 3 or so min of the song really sucks. I was expecting something totally different, I like the song towards the end but yeah, the first 3 min are horrible. Not LP.

You can listen to the new song here.

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Cricketing Glory =p

What a weekend. Caught Inception Friday night, which turned out to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. Me and a few of my cricket team members got together Saturday to practice for Sunday when we would play 2 matches back to back. Practice went pretty well but really nothing nearly as well as things went on match day.

Our first match, started well when I won the toss and elected to bowl first. The opposition started pretty slowly and I mixed my bowlers well I think. It turned out to be a match of lots of first for us. For the first time we managed to bowl out a team in 20 overs, but still had to chase down 149 runs to win. (Required run rate of 7.45)

Things started well for us and we managed to stay close (relatively) to the oppositions score. The most memorable moment moment to me was when we still needed 60 runs off 35 balls, my batting partner walked up to me and told me that we were getting too far behind and needed to push a little. So I hit 22 runs off the over, which put us right in the game again. 38 runs off 30 balls. From there on it was pretty straight forward and we won with a over to spare. Our teams first win ever, my first win as captain =p

The second game was much closer, I lost the toss and we were sent in to bat first. Both the openers got their 50’s and things really looked amazing for us before a batting collapse started and we were restricted to 161 in our 20 overs. (The first time we managed to bat all 20 overs)

Bowling started out slowly with their batsmen happy to push singles and just keep the scoreboard ticking over. We made things difficult for ourselves by dropping 2 catches and 2 big overs and the opposing team were back in the game, things got really tight, and stressful after one of their fielders came onto the field to tell the batsmen needed 11 off the last over to win the match for them.

I was unlucky enough to bowl the last over, which started out well and went sour pretty fast when the batsman picked my slower ball and hit it for 6. I followed up by a dot ball and a wide which i managed to bowl for another dot. The opposition needed 4 to win off the last ball. So the batsman hit… 4. it was all over for us. the other team came running onto the field celebrating and we bowed out heads in shame, but then the score keeper told us that we had infact won. The opposition needed to hit 162 to win and they were on 160. They had the wrong target, the whole time they were playing for 160 not 162… As you can imagine, the shock on both teams faces, the oppositions similes quickly turning to sadness and disbelief.

We held on barely. Our first ever win defending a score and only our 2nd win ever.

What started as a horrible first season, with 4 loses in a row now suddenly looks a lot better.

I doubt any of us will ever forget that day. We topped it off with celebratory drink. Long live Pandamonium cricket =)

Saturday, July 31, 2010

Thoughts on Inception

Thoughts on Inception

WOW!! - now with that out of the way. WOW, what a movie!

Just got home from the cinema (movie was only released here tonight), and my mind is still working over everything in that movie.

Before I went to see the movie I read briefly through the plot on imdb (like 2 or 3 sentences), and then I didn’t even grasp the enormity/possibilities of that, that was still to come. From what I read on the internet people seemed rather unresolved regarding the ending, so I made I point to pay real close attention right from the start.

The movie had a few funny moments, which i think sort of allowed you to just relax a bit before getting back to what was going on and maybe helped speed along things, the movie started pretty fast and then after the first 20 or so min it slowed down a bit. The calm before the storm, but once that storm got started it was insane! Following multiple layers of the story near the end was really awesome.

Just a note, the movie is long, like I think 2 and a half hours, so I wouldn’t recommend you go watch the late night movie, in case you have to work the next day.

So here are some of my thoughts.

If your going to stop reading here, thank you and hope you sort of enjoyed this, my first attempt at blogging about something.

WARNING ITS ALL SPOILERS!! =p

First off these are just ideas I have off possible endings or stuff that could have influenced the way things ended, and by no means have I read anything anywhere about what really happened. I doubt Id want to, for now anyway.

Let’s get right into it, at the end, Cobb spins the top on the table to see if it’s real or another dream and then the credits appear just as it seems like it might topple. Could it be that he is still in a dream, maybe the one he was in with his wife initially? though that would mean that he idea he planted in his wife’s mind backfired upon himself and he got lost in all of it. That’s very unlikely I guess.

I’m not sure though whether or not there is some rule regarding projections and their parts they can play in the dream. It could be fine maybe? Since if his wife sure played a large part..

Another thing, if he were gone for so long from home wouldn’t his children have aged? Though we never their faces till the end. Then again maybe he wasn’t gone for long =p

OK I’m going to stop writing now, cause the more I think about it the more theories I get. I would love to see this movie again.

If someone actually got this far and didn’t cheat..

thank you very much =)