What a weekend. Caught Inception Friday night, which turned out to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. Me and a few of my cricket team members got together Saturday to practice for Sunday when we would play 2 matches back to back. Practice went pretty well but really nothing nearly as well as things went on match day.
Our first match, started well when I won the toss and elected to bowl first. The opposition started pretty slowly and I mixed my bowlers well I think. It turned out to be a match of lots of first for us. For the first time we managed to bowl out a team in 20 overs, but still had to chase down 149 runs to win. (Required run rate of 7.45)
Things started well for us and we managed to stay close (relatively) to the oppositions score. The most memorable moment moment to me was when we still needed 60 runs off 35 balls, my batting partner walked up to me and told me that we were getting too far behind and needed to push a little. So I hit 22 runs off the over, which put us right in the game again. 38 runs off 30 balls. From there on it was pretty straight forward and we won with a over to spare. Our teams first win ever, my first win as captain =p
The second game was much closer, I lost the toss and we were sent in to bat first. Both the openers got their 50’s and things really looked amazing for us before a batting collapse started and we were restricted to 161 in our 20 overs. (The first time we managed to bat all 20 overs)
Bowling started out slowly with their batsmen happy to push singles and just keep the scoreboard ticking over. We made things difficult for ourselves by dropping 2 catches and 2 big overs and the opposing team were back in the game, things got really tight, and stressful after one of their fielders came onto the field to tell the batsmen needed 11 off the last over to win the match for them.
I was unlucky enough to bowl the last over, which started out well and went sour pretty fast when the batsman picked my slower ball and hit it for 6. I followed up by a dot ball and a wide which i managed to bowl for another dot. The opposition needed 4 to win off the last ball. So the batsman hit… 4. it was all over for us. the other team came running onto the field celebrating and we bowed out heads in shame, but then the score keeper told us that we had infact won. The opposition needed to hit 162 to win and they were on 160. They had the wrong target, the whole time they were playing for 160 not 162… As you can imagine, the shock on both teams faces, the oppositions similes quickly turning to sadness and disbelief.
We held on barely. Our first ever win defending a score and only our 2nd win ever.
What started as a horrible first season, with 4 loses in a row now suddenly looks a lot better.
I doubt any of us will ever forget that day. We topped it off with celebratory drink. Long live Pandamonium cricket =)
No comments:
Post a Comment