Wednesday, August 11, 2010
ovi fail
The idea stayed with me for awhile until, my phones memory card got corrupted and I had to format it. I couldn't back up any of the applications I had installed (cause Symbian is scrappy like that or due to my lack of knowledge or both).
But that was ok, ovi had my back right, it has a list of Applications I downloaded from the store. I proceeded to formatting, ovi store, realized I couldn't download any of the applications under my stuff tab and to my shock found out that they don't allow you to download a application more than once unless you email them and ask them to unlock it for you.
So you buy a application but you can only install it once and if you lose it you have to email customer support and have them open it for you so you can download it again, and to make it worse they can just do this 4 times per application, after that you will have to buy the application again.
How retarded is that?
Why on earth would I write a application for their silly store? Until they sort out their policy regarding the installation of applications I will continue to refuse to use ovi store.
Thursday, August 5, 2010
New Linkin Park Song
Myself being a huge LP fan, I couldn’t wait to hear the new song called “The Catalyst”. Went over to their MySpace page to listen to the song and wow what have they done! Disappointing.
The first 3 or so min of the song really sucks. I was expecting something totally different, I like the song towards the end but yeah, the first 3 min are horrible. Not LP.
You can listen to the new song here.
Tuesday, August 3, 2010
Cricketing Glory =p
What a weekend. Caught Inception Friday night, which turned out to be one of the best movies I have ever seen. Me and a few of my cricket team members got together Saturday to practice for Sunday when we would play 2 matches back to back. Practice went pretty well but really nothing nearly as well as things went on match day.
Our first match, started well when I won the toss and elected to bowl first. The opposition started pretty slowly and I mixed my bowlers well I think. It turned out to be a match of lots of first for us. For the first time we managed to bowl out a team in 20 overs, but still had to chase down 149 runs to win. (Required run rate of 7.45)
Things started well for us and we managed to stay close (relatively) to the oppositions score. The most memorable moment moment to me was when we still needed 60 runs off 35 balls, my batting partner walked up to me and told me that we were getting too far behind and needed to push a little. So I hit 22 runs off the over, which put us right in the game again. 38 runs off 30 balls. From there on it was pretty straight forward and we won with a over to spare. Our teams first win ever, my first win as captain =p
The second game was much closer, I lost the toss and we were sent in to bat first. Both the openers got their 50’s and things really looked amazing for us before a batting collapse started and we were restricted to 161 in our 20 overs. (The first time we managed to bat all 20 overs)
Bowling started out slowly with their batsmen happy to push singles and just keep the scoreboard ticking over. We made things difficult for ourselves by dropping 2 catches and 2 big overs and the opposing team were back in the game, things got really tight, and stressful after one of their fielders came onto the field to tell the batsmen needed 11 off the last over to win the match for them.
I was unlucky enough to bowl the last over, which started out well and went sour pretty fast when the batsman picked my slower ball and hit it for 6. I followed up by a dot ball and a wide which i managed to bowl for another dot. The opposition needed 4 to win off the last ball. So the batsman hit… 4. it was all over for us. the other team came running onto the field celebrating and we bowed out heads in shame, but then the score keeper told us that we had infact won. The opposition needed to hit 162 to win and they were on 160. They had the wrong target, the whole time they were playing for 160 not 162… As you can imagine, the shock on both teams faces, the oppositions similes quickly turning to sadness and disbelief.
We held on barely. Our first ever win defending a score and only our 2nd win ever.
What started as a horrible first season, with 4 loses in a row now suddenly looks a lot better.
I doubt any of us will ever forget that day. We topped it off with celebratory drink. Long live Pandamonium cricket =)